Dogs

Dogs

Before getting a Dog

Things to consider

"Am I suitable to be a dog owner?"

Before getting a dog, ask yourself the following questions. Press "Yes" or "No" as appropriate.

A dog

1. Are you allowed to keep a dog in the place you live in?

Make sure you check with the management office or the owners’ corporation before you get a dog to see if keeping of dogs is allowed in the building / estate you live in.
Then you should NOT get a dog. The Subsidised Housing Committee of the Housing Authority endorsed at its meeting on 25 September 2003 to uphold the ban on dogs in public housing estates. Therefore, all public housing estates in Hong Kong do not allow the keeping of dogs. Many private housing estates also ban the keeping of dogs.
A residential building


2. Is your home spacious enough for keeping a dog?

A flat
Make sure your home has enough space for the dog to move around freely and the environment is dog friendly. The space requirement for keeping different breeds of dogs is different. Large dogs may require more space to run around.
If your home has little space for the dog to move around freely or your family members do not like dogs or have allergies to dogs, then maybe you should consider getting other types of pets such as rabbits or hamsters.


3. Do all your family members agree to have a dog?

That’s great. If you get your family’s consent before getting a dog, they will feel respected and it will be easier for them to accept a new member into the family.
Then you should NOT get a dog. You and your family members might come into conflict because of the dog.
A family with a dog


4. Are you prepared to take care of a dog for its entire life?

A lady with an old dog
If you get a dog, make sure you are committed to your dog for the rest of its life, which can last for 12 to 15 years or more. Your dog, like humans, can get ill especially as it ages, you should seek veterinary attention and provide proper care to your dog at all times.
Then you should NOT get a dog. Depending on the breeds, some dogs can live up to 15 years or more. If you are not ready to make this commitment, then don’t get a dog.


5. Do you have time to take care of a dog?

Make sure you have enough time to take good care of the dog. You will need to spend up to a few hours a day to feed, bathe, groom, walk, train, exercise and play with it.
Then you should NOT get a dog. A dog needs attention and care, if you don’t have time for it, you should not get one.
Training a dog


6. Can you afford to keep a dog?

Dog is sleeping on its bed
Make sure you set aside money for your dog. You will need to pay for its food, supplies, vet bills, etc. A dog can cost you thousands of dollars every year. Large dogs will cost you even more.
Then you should NOT get a dog. A dog cannot support itself financially, it relies on the owner to pay for its needs.


Please think carefully before getting a dog, make sure you are committed to your dog for the rest of its life. Never buy or adopt a dog on impulse, many dogs are abandoned because the owners could not commit.
Leaflet

Kinds of dogs

“What kind of dog should I get?”

If you have decided to keep a dog, congratulations. People with dogs tend to be happier and healthier. If you are willing to invest time, effort, love and patience to build a close relationship with your dog, the reward is years of companionship, protection and unconditional love. But you may wonder, what kind of dog suits you the most, here are a few questions you need to ask when choosing the right dog for yourself.

A big dog and a small dog
  1. What size of dog suits you the most?

    Although it seems logical that a small breed dog is more suitable for people living in small flats, there are actually other factors you need to consider besides the size of the dog. You need to check whether the energy level, temperament and personality of the dog are compatible with your lifestyle in addition to its size. Some smaller breeds such as Terriers, are very energetic. They need lots of exercises and outdoor activities.

    If you have kids or elderly people in your family, you should look for a gentle, steady and obedient dog.

A puppy and a mature dog
  1. Do you prefer a puppy or a mature dog?

    Puppies might be cuter but they require a lot more time and attention than mature dogs. For example, puppies need to be fed three to four times a day but a mature dog only needs to be fed once to twice daily.

    Also, puppies are much more energetic and active than a mature dog, young children and elderly people may not have the ability to manage a puppy’s exuberance. You will need to spend a great deal more time to train and take care of the puppy and will need to be extra patient to tolerate the puppy’s chewing phases.

A mongrel dog and a purebred dog
  1. Do you prefer purebred dogs or mongrels?

    Some people prefer purebred dogs because they are attracted by the particular look or characteristics of a certain breed. Others prefer mongrels because they are unique and stronger physically due to their genetic diversity which makes them less prone to genetic health problems.

    If you want to be more certain about the appearance and size of the dog, then a purebred dog might be more suitable for you. But the temperament and personality of the dog can differ on an individual basis. It is best to assess such parameters by interaction and observation.

狗隻

狗隻

飼養狗隻前

考慮事項

飼養狗隻前,請回答下列問題。

狗隻

1. 你的居所是否允許飼養狗隻?

飼養狗隻前,請務必徵求物業管理處或業主立案法團的意見,了解你居住的樓宇/屋苑是否允許飼養狗隻。
這種情況下你不應飼養狗隻。房委會資助房屋小組委員會於2003年9月25日,決定維持不准在公共房屋養狗的限制。因此,所有在香港的公共房屋都是禁止飼養狗隻的。不少私人物業亦禁止飼養狗隻。
住宅


2. 你的家是否有足夠空間容納狗隻?

寓所
請確保家中有足夠的空間,使狗隻能自由活動,且能提供狗隻友善的環境。對不同品種的狗隻而言,牠們所需的空間亦不盡相同。大型狗隻需要更多空間四處奔跑。
如你家中空間狹窄,無法讓狗隻自由活動,或家庭成員不喜歡狗隻,或對狗隻過敏,那麼你或許應考慮飼養其他類型的寵物例如兔子或倉鼠。


3. 是否所有家庭成員都同意飼養狗隻?

這就好。如果你能在飼養狗隻之前先得到所有家人的同意,家人會感到被尊重,這能使他們更容易接受新成員加入。
這種情況下你不應飼養狗隻。你與家庭成員可能會因為狗隻而發生衝突。
家庭和狗隻


4. 你是否已準備好照顧狗隻的一生?

女士和老年狗隻
如你決定飼養狗隻,請確保自己能為狗隻的一生負責,牠的壽命可長達12至15年,或更長。狗隻與人一樣,亦會生病,尤其在老年階段,屆時,你應帶狗隻看獸醫,並時刻為狗隻提供適當的照料。
這種情況下你不應飼養狗隻。視乎品種而定,有些狗隻的壽命可長達15年或以上。如你無法作出照顧狗隻一生的承諾,請不要飼養狗隻。


5. 你是否有時間照顧狗隻?

你應確保你有足夠的時間照顧狗隻。你每天將需要拿出多達幾個小時的時間餵養狗隻、為狗隻洗澡、梳理毛髮、帶狗隻外出散步、訓練狗隻、與狗隻運動以及嬉戲。
這種情況下你不應飼養狗隻。狗隻需要關注和照顧,如你沒有時間,你不應飼養狗隻。
訓練狗隻


6. 你能否負擔飼養狗隻的費用?

正在睡眠的狗隻
請確保你有預留金錢作為狗隻的相關開支。你需要為狗隻支付其在食物、日用品、獸醫帳單等方面的費用。狗隻每年可能消耗你大量金錢。大型狗隻會花費你更多金錢。
這種情況下你不應飼養狗隻。狗隻無法在經濟方面自給自足,狗隻完全依賴主人支付牠的各種需要。


飼養狗隻前請認真考慮清楚,你應確保你會照顧牠一生。切勿因一時衝動而購買或領養狗隻,很多狗隻因為主人其後改變主意而慘遭遺棄。
「照顧佢一生 停停先諗真」單張

狗隻種類

如你已決定飼養狗隻,恭喜你。養狗人士的生活往往更快樂、更健康。如你願意投入時間、精力、愛心及耐心,與愛犬建立親密的關係,作為回報,愛犬將多年與你相伴,保護你的安全,並給予你無條件的愛。你或許心存疑惑,到底哪種狗隻最適合自己呢?在選擇最適合自己的狗隻時,請認真考慮以下問題。

小型狗隻和大型狗隻
  1. 哪種體型大小的狗隻最適合你?

    小型狗隻更適合住在小型單位的人士,這合情合理,但除考慮狗隻的體型大小之外,還有其他因素不容忽視。你有必要瞭解狗隻的體力水平、性情和性格是否與你的生活方式相符。例如,梗類犬雖然體型較小,但精力充沛。牠們需要大量的運動和戶外活動。

    如你家中有小童或長者,應選擇性格温馴、動作穩定及服從性强的狗隻。

幼犬和成年犬
  1. 你喜歡幼犬還是成年犬?

    幼犬也許比成年犬可愛,但幼犬需要你投入更多時間和關注。例如,幼犬需要每天進食三至四次,成年犬則每天進食一兩次即可。

    此外,幼犬比成年犬精力更充沛、更活躍,小童及長者可能沒有能力應付活躍的幼犬。你需要花費大量時間訓練並照料幼犬,還要格外有耐心,容忍幼犬在其咀嚼階段所造成的破壞。

混種狗和純種狗
  1. 你喜歡純種狗還是混種狗?

    有些人較喜歡純種狗,因為他們鍾情於特定犬種的外形或特點。另一些人較喜歡混種狗,因為這類犬種獨特,而且牠們所擁有的多元基因使其體格較強健,亦令牠們較少出現遺傳性的健康問題。

    如你希望對狗隻的樣貌及體格有更確定的把握,純種狗可能更適合你。但狗隻的性情及性格則需要經過接觸和觀察才能了解,因此未必能從狗種預計牠的性情及性格。