Dogs

Dogs

Large Dogs

Definition

What are “large dogs”?

Under the current legislation, dogs weighing 20kg or more are classified as “large dogs”.

Some examples of breeds which usually weigh more than 20kg when mature include:
Afghan Hound, Alaskan Malamute, Bernese Mountain Dog, Chow Chow, Collie, Doberman Pinscher, English Bull Terrier, German Shepherd, Golden Retriever, Great Dane, Greyhound, Husky, Labrador, Mastiff, Old English Sheepdog, Rhodesian Ridgeback, Rottweiler, St. Bernard.

Other breeds, and many mongrels and crossbreeds may also weigh over 20kg.

Proper Control

When a large dog is in a public place, the following control measures must be applied:

  • When you enter a public place with a large dog, you must observe the duty of care and be fully focused while controlling your dog.
  • Large dogs shall be securely held on a leash of not more than 2 metres in length by a person at all times; OR
  • Large dogs shall be securely tied to a fixed object on a leash of not more than 1.5 metres in length in a manner that does not pose a danger to the public and animal safety, and welfare of the dog.
  • In country parks, large dogs may be exercised without a leash, provided they are still under effective control.
A large dog

Suggestions for the control of “large dogs”

  • Training – If a large dog displays aggressive behaviour, it could cause serious harm to the injured person. Therefore, you should start training your dog from an early age to ensure that you can control it properly and that it responds to your commands. You can find out more about training your dog here.
  • If you get your dog as a puppy, socialisation is also very important – you can find out more about this here.
  • Ensure that any person walking your dog has enough physical strength to control it - If your dog is being taken care of by someone else (for example, a domestic helper), you should ensure that the person walking the dog has enough physical strength to hold the dog on a leash securely and can control and manage the dog properly. In addition, you should ensure that you have enough physical strength to hold your large dog on a leash securely and can control and manage the dog properly while you bring your dog out for a walk. Quite a number of cases where the large dogs injured other people or animals were due to the fact that the person walking the dog did not have enough strength to control the dog and the person could not stop the dog from misbehaving.
  • Exercising your dog – Choose a suitable place with fewer people to exercise your dog to prevent it from causing nuisance to other people.
  • Avoiding accidents and injuries – If your dog has a tendency to show aggressive behaviour, in addition to the above measures, consider using a muzzle on your dog (but be careful when using a muzzle in hot weather).
  • Please dispose of your dog’s droppings properly.
  • Please keep your dog on a leash once you leave a country park.
Large dog off leash in a country park with dog owner nearby
Dog owner cleaning dog's droppings

When leaving country park,dog owner put on leash for dog
Dog owner holding his dog on a leash while leaving country park area

Summary

Pets are for life. Keeping any dog, especially a large dog, is a big responsibility which needs careful consideration beforehand. Before keeping a large dog, make sure you consider carefully whether you have the ability to properly look after and control it for the rest of its life. Also bear in mind the likely size and strength of the dog when it is fully grown.

Exemption Exam

Under Hong Kong law, “large dogs” must be securely held on a leash not longer than 2 metres in public places. However, if you believe you have a well-trained large dog and would like to exercise your large dog off leash, you can participate in the exemption examination for large dogs.

AFCD will hold examination sessions every year.

Please note that participation in the examination is voluntary. Owners of large dogs who are content to exercise their dogs on leash in public places and outdoor areas need not apply to sit for this examination.

Please see below for examination content.

Protocol

The examination comprises of two parts, both of which must be completed successfully. During the examination, the owner must not use any tools that would interfere with the performance of the dog being tested, for example, prong collars, adjustable dog collars (choke collars) and any tools that prevent the dog from barking such as bark terminators and bark terminating collars, etc.

Test 1- Assessment of temperament

A veterinary assessment of temperament will be conducted according to the protocol established by the Australian RSPCA (please click). The assessment will be done by AFCD’s Veterinary Officer in the absence of the dog owner.

In addition to the assessment criteria as listed in the protocol, while the tests are being conducted, the dog should not demonstrate signs of overt aggression towards other dogs or humans. The below criterion will be added to the protocol to assess the temperament of the dog:

A large dog

Bring the dog being tested to another dog which is separated by wired fencing to assess its reaction [Both dogs must be on leash]:-

  1. It shows sociable behaviours
  2. It shows little reaction
  3. It growls, barks, rushes towards the other dog or becomes overly aggressive

Dogs with one or more "unacceptable" results or more than four "borderline" results in test 1 will be considered to have failed the test and will not be permitted to proceed to test 2.

Test 2 - Assessment of control

This test will be conducted in a circuit approximately 160 metres in length. The owner is required to walk around the circuit once with his dog unleashed. At all times owner must control his/her dog without touching it. The circuit will be marked by flags placed 10 metres apart. Please note that the circuit has recently been revised. (see attached circuit diagram in PDF file) [Download Acrobat Reader for viewing the document] or Flash file.

This test contains four elements, all of which must be completed successfully to obtain a pass.

  • Element 1 - walking with dog off leash

    The dog must remain within 10 metres of the owner at all times and within the confines of the markers during the walk around the circuit. The owner is free to decide the distance he allows the dog to move away from him up to the 10 metre limit. [Note: the "10 metre limit" does not apply during the conduct of the other three elements of the test described below]

  • Element 2 - encounter with a stranger

    At one point in the circuit a stranger will walk towards the dog and owner. When the stranger and the owner meet, the dog must sit, stay or drop beside the owner. The stranger will stop, talk to the owner and offer him/her an object. The dog must show no signs of aggression towards the stranger.

  • Element 3 - recall dog

    At the next point in the circuit the owner and dog must separate by a distance of at least 10 metres and then the owner recalls the dog. The owner can do this by sending the dog off and recalling it or, if the dog is not trained to be sent off, by getting the dog to sit and stay while the owner walks at least 10 metres away and then recalls the dog.The owner should wait for the Veterinary Officer's signal before recalling the dog. Whilst the dog is being commanded to stay, there will be distraction and moving objects, such as a person riding a bicycle, playing football or walking with small pups, etc. outside the circuit.

  • Element 4 - encounter with a stranger walking a dog on leash

    At the next point in the circuit, a stranger walking a friendly, leashed dog will walk towards the dog and owner. When the stranger and the owner meet, the dog must sit, stay or drop beside the owner. The stranger will stop, talk to the owner and offer him/her an object. The dog must show no signs of overt aggression towards the stranger or the other dog.

Retests

No retake of examination on the same day will be offered. Any dog that fails the examination may retake it at future examination sessions. There is no restriction on the number of attempts.

Dog that passes the Exemption Examination

All dogs that pass the examination will be issued with a medal and a certificate by this Department.  Under Hong Kong law, the medal must be attached to the collar or harness of the dog when it enters or remains in public places.  Otherwise, the dog must be securely held on a leash not longer than 2 meters in accordance with section 9(1) of the Dangerous Dogs Regulation (Cap. 167 sub. Leg. D).

Sample of the medal:


Schedule

Exemption Examination for Large Dogs is scheduled as below:

Date Venue (By courtesy of LCSD) Remarks
13 March 2021 (Sat)
Ping Pak Lane Park, Ping Shan, Yuen Long 
Open for application


Having regard to the latest development of the epidemic situation, the exam originally scheduled in 2020 will be tentatively rearranged to 13 March 2021. The location of the event will be held at Ping Pak Lane Park, Yuen Long. However, the arrangement details is still subject to the risk of the spread of the COVID-19 in the community. Further arrangements of the examination will be announced in due course. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

The next examination date will be announced later. The below information is provided for reference.

Application Form

Please download and complete the application form.

Please provide copies of the following documents to the NT South Animal Management Centre by fax, mail or in person on or before 13 February 2021.

  1. The completed application form.
  2. Valid Dog Licence.
  3. Valid Vaccination Certificate of major infectious diseases (i.e. Canine distemper virus, Canine parvovirus and Canine contagious hepatitis virus).

Candidates will be processed according to the order their applications were received. Registration quota of every examination is 40 dogs, successful acceptance of the application will be based on whether all required documents are submitted.

Address : NT South Animal Management Centre, 11 To Shek Path, Sha Tin, N.T.
Fax : 2609 4642
Telephone : 2694 7649

Legislation

Applicable Legislation:

The control of large dogs is governed by the Dangerous Dogs Regulation (Cap. 167D) Section 9. Anyone contravening this section is liable to a fine of $25,000 and imprisonment for 3 months.

狗只

狗只

大型狗只

定义

哪些狗只是「大型狗只」?

根据现行法例,凡体重达 20公斤或以上的狗只均被定为「大型狗只」。

以下是一些成年后体重通常会多于 20公斤的狗种的例子:

阿富汗猎犬、阿拉斯加雪橇犬、伯恩山犬、松狮犬、柯利犬、杜伯文、英国布爹利犬、德国牧羊犬、金毛寻回犬、大丹狗、格力狗、哈士奇(雪撬犬)、拉布拉多猎犬、马士提夫、英国古代牧羊犬、罗德西亚背脊犬、洛威拿、圣伯纳狗。

其他狗种及很多唐狗和混种狗只也可能重20公斤或以上。

妥善管理

「大型狗只」于公众地方时,必须遵守以下管制措施:

  • 让大型狗只进入公众场所时,你必须履行谨慎责任,全心专注管束狗只;
  • 「大型狗只」须时刻被人用一条长度不超逾2米的狗带稳妥地牵引着;或
  • 「大型狗只」须被人用一条长度不超逾1.5米的狗带以不会对公众及动物的安全以及该狗只的福利构成危险的方式稳妥地缚在固定物体上。
  • 在郊野公园范围内,「大型狗只」于有效的管制下可豁免被狗带牵引。
大型狗只

对管理「大型狗只」的建议

  • 行为训练 - 大型狗只若出现攻击性行为,会对伤者造成严重的伤害。因此,你必须从小开始正确训练你的狗只,以确保你能妥善控制牠,和使牠回应你的指令。你可按以浏覧更多有关训练狗只的资料。
  • 如你在狗只仍是幼犬时已开始饲养牠,紧记要从小开始「社会化」狗只。你可按以浏覧更多有关「社会化」狗只的资料。
  • 确保任何溜狗的人有足够体能控制狗只 - 若狗只由他人照顾(例如家庭佣工),你应确保溜狗的人有足够体能以狗带稳妥地牵引狗只,及能妥善控制和管理狗只。此外,你应确保自己在带大型狗只外出散步时,有足够体能以狗带稳妥地牵引狗只及能妥善控制和管理狗只。不少大型狗只伤人或其他动物的个案,都是因带狗者未有足够体力控制狗只,无法阻止狗只不当行为而做成的。
  • 与狗只做运动 - 选择一个人流较少的、合适的地方跟你的狗只做运动,以避免滋扰他人。
  • 避免意外和受伤 - 如你的狗只出现攻击性行为,除了采取以上措施,你亦可考虑替狗只戴上口罩(但当天气炎热时使用口罩,应格外留意狗只状况)。
  • 请妥善处理狗只的排泄物。
  • 当你离开郊野公园时,请用狗带牵引狗只。
大型狗只在郊野公园里未佩戴狗带
狗主清理狗只的粪便

当狗主和狗只离开郊野公园时,狗主为狗只佩戴狗带
狗主用狗带牵引狗只离开郊野公园

总结

养宠物是一辈子的事。饲养狗只责任重大,饲养大型狗只更甚,所以在决定饲养前必须考虑清楚。大家应留意狗只成年后可能达致的体型和力气,和评估自己是否有能力妥善照顾及管束牠的一生。

豁免规管考试

根据香港法例,于公众地方时,「大型狗只」必须用一条不超过2米长的狗带稳妥地牵引着。但如果你相信你的大型狗只训练有素并希望狗只可以在不受狗带牵引的情况下运动,你可参与大型狗只豁免规管考试。

渔农自然护理署会在每年举行数场考试。

请注意,参与考试与否纯綷自愿。如大型狗只的主人乐意在公众地方及户外时以狗带牵引大型狗只,则不用参与此考试。

请浏览以下考试内容。

规则

考试包括两部份,而狗只必须两部份同时合格。在考试期间,狗主不能使用任何干扰参与考试狗只的工具,例如有倒勾的狗颈圈、可抽紧的狗颈圈(紧箍颈圈),以及防止狗吠之灭声器或灭声颈圈等等。

考试(一):性情评核

对性情的兽医学评核将根据澳洲皇家防止虐畜会订立的规则(请按此见附件)而进行。渔护署兽医会在狗主不在场的情况下向狗只进行评核。

除了列载于上述规则的评估准则外,狗只在考试时不应该对其他狗或人表现出公然挑衅的举动。以下评估准则亦会被应用于上述规则以评核狗只的性情。

大型狗只

牵引应考狗只接近另一头用铁丝网分隔的狗只,测试该应考狗只的反应 [当时两头狗只必须用狗带牵引着]:

  1. 牠态度亲切
  2. 牠没有太大反应
  3. 牠发出轰隆声、吠叫、扑前或有公然挑衅行为

在第一部份的考试取得一项或以上的「不可接受」成绩或超过四项「未能确定」成绩的狗只会被视为不及格,不会获准参加考试二。

考试(二):控制能力评核

这测验会沿着一个大约160米长的环形路线进行。狗主须要与没有狗带牵引的狗在环形路线一起走一个圈;狗主必须在任何时间不触摸狗只的情况之下规管狗只。这环形路线上每相隔十米均有旗帜标示。请留意考试圈最近被修订过。(请下载最新修订的考试圈图的PDF格式或Flash格式。[下载Acrobat Reader来浏览文件]

这项考试共有四个部份,狗只必须成功完成所有部份方能及格。

  • 第一部份:与没有狗带牵引的狗只一起行走

    狗只沿着环形路线行走期间,任何时候都须要保持在主人的十米范围内和标志划定的范围内。狗主可随意决定容许狗只离开有多远,但以十米为限。(注意:这个「十米限制」不适用于下文所述的其余三部份考试)

  • 第二部份:遇到陌生人

    狗只和主人走到环形路线的某一点时,一名陌生人会走近他们。陌生人遇上狗主时,狗只必须坐下、停步或伏在主人旁边。那名陌生人会停步,与狗主交谈,以及将一件物件交给他/她,而狗只不得对那名陌生人做出挑衅的举动。

  • 第三部份:召回狗只

    在环形路线的下一点,狗只和主人必须分隔至少十米,然后狗主召回狗只。狗主可以先使狗只跑开,然后召回牠。如果狗只没有受过奉命跑开的训练,狗主则可以先使狗只坐下和停留,然后走开至少十米,等候兽医指示, 在获得兽医示意后召回狗只。
    当狗只被命令停留在环形路线内时,环形路线外会有分散注意力的事物和移动的物体,例如会有人骑单车、踢足球及带着小狗走过等,以测试狗只的服从程度。

  • 第四部份:遇到用狗带拖着狗只的陌生人

    在环形路线的下一点,一名陌生人会用狗带拖着一头友善的狗只,走近应考的狗只和狗主。陌生人遇上狗主时,应考的狗只必须坐下、停步或伏在主人旁边。同时,那名陌生人会停步,与狗主交谈,并且将一件物件交给他/她,而应考的狗只不得对陌生人或另一头狗做出挑衅的举动。

重考

考试当日不设即日重考。任何考试不及格的狗只都可以再参加将来的考试,应考次数没有限制。


的狗只

本署均会对所有通过豁免考试的大型狗只发出一个徽章及一张证明书。根据香港法例,该狗只在进入或留在公众地方时,其颈圈或胸带必须带上有关徽章;否则,该狗只便须遵从《危险狗只规例》(第167章,附属法例D)第9(1)条,管制该狗只,即该狗只在公众地方时,须被一条长度不超过2米的狗带稳妥地牵引。

徽章样本如下:


时间表

大型狗只豁免规管考试的时间及地点编订如下:

日期 场地 (特别鸣谢康文署借用辖下场地) 备注
2021年3月13日 (星期六) 元朗屏山屏柏里公园 现正接受申请


因应疫情的最新发展,原订在 2020 年举行之考试,将暂定顺延至 2021 年 3 月 13 日再次举行,举行地点为元朗屏栢里公园,但一切仍需视乎新型冠状病毒在社区传播的风险。有关安排及详情,将于适当时间公布。不便之处,敬请原谅。


下期考试举行的日期将于稍后公布。以下资料仅供参考。

申请表

按此下载及填妥申请表格。

请将以下文件的副本于2021年02月13日或之前以传真、邮寄或亲自递交的方式交回本署的新界南动物管理中心。

  1. 填妥的申请表格。
  2. 有效狗只牌照。
  3. 有效的防疫注射证明书以证明狗只已注射主要传染病的预防疫苗,包括犬瘟热、犬小病毒肠炎和传染性犬肝炎等的预防疫苗。

本署会根据收回来的申请之次序处理应试者的申请,名额有限,每次考试名额为40只狗只,并将会以先到先得方式接受报名,额满即止。(有效申请以交齐所需文件的时间为准)

: 新界南动物管理中心,新界沙田多石径11号
: 2609 4642
: 2694 7649

法例

适用的法例:

危险狗只规例(第167D章)第9条规定了「大型狗只」的管制,任何人士如违反这条规例,一经定罪,可被罚款$25,000及监禁 3个月。